A four-stage model for lifelong competence development

Judith Schoonenboom*, Colin Tattersall, Yongwu Miao, Krassen Stefanov, Adelina Aleksieva-Petrova

*Corresponding author for this work

    Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapterAcademicpeer-review

    250 Downloads (Pure)


    This chapter discusses the role of e-assessment in the process of competence development. Its basic claim is that competence development is a process, with distinct stages, and that the assessment forms, and the roles taken on by those involved in the process, depend on the stage in which learning occurs. More specifically, as a learner starts with competence development, self-assessment will be the most prominent, if not the only, form of assessment. This orientation stage is followed by a stage of evidence collection, which is supported by e-portfolio building. In a third stage, the learner is judged by others, and in this stage organisations make use of assessment forms such as on-the-job assessment, 360-degree assessment and assessment centres. In the fourth stage, the learner perform competence development activities. This process is supported by self-assessment and peer assessment. With each stage, examples of e-assessment are provided.
    Original languageEnglish
    Title of host publicationService Oriented Approaches and Lifelong Competence Development Infrastructures
    Subtitle of host publicationProceedings of the 2nd TENCompetence Open Workshop, Manchester, UK, 11th and 12th January 2007
    EditorsDavid Griffiths, Rob Koper, Oleg Liber
    Number of pages6
    ISBN (Print) 0907311229
    Publication statusPublished - 2007
    Event2nd TENCompetence Open Workshop: Service Oriented Approaches and Lifelong Competence Development Infrastructures - University of Bolton, Manchester, United Kingdom
    Duration: 11 Jan 200712 Jan 2007
    Conference number: 2


    Conference2nd TENCompetence Open Workshop
    Country/TerritoryUnited Kingdom
    Internet address


    • competence assessment
    • competence development
    • lifelong learning


    Dive into the research topics of 'A four-stage model for lifelong competence development'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

    Cite this